City of Cockburn, PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC, Western Australia, 6965
Telephone: (08) 9411 3444

2017 Local Government elections

Local Government elections will be held in October 2017. They will be run by the WA Electoral Commission as a postal vote.

There will be six vacancies -- for the Mayor, two Councillors each in West and Central Wards and one in East Ward.

These roles are currently represented by Mayor Howlett and Councillors Allen and Sweetman (West), Councillors Eva and Houwen (Central) and Councillor Smith (East).

Who can nominate to run for council in a local government election?

Anyone aged 18 or older, and is on the local governments electoral roll, can nominate for council.

You cannot run for Council if you are:

  • a member of parliament or another council
  • a financial insolvent
  • currently serving a prison sentence
  • convicted of a serious local government offence in the previous five years
  • convicted of an offence for which the indictable penalty was imprisonment of more than five years or
  • found personally liable for misapplying local government funds or property in the previous five years.
  • Can a person nominating for council in a local government nominate only in a ward where they live, or own or occupy property?

He or she can run for council in any ward of that local governments district.