News Details:
Name: Proposed change to City wards and boundaries



Recommended changes to the City ward boundaries are currently with the Local Government Advisory Board following community consultation.

Wards and boundaries

The City asked the community (November/December 2016) to give feedback about changing its wards and boundaries.

This was to comply with State policy which requires all local governments to have the same number of electors in each ward, give or take 10 percent. Due to growth in some suburbs, Council had to change the boundaries to comply.

Based on the community feedback, the most popular option of the three options presented was Option 1 (see map attachment below)

What next?
On 9 February 2017, Council decided to recommend Option 1 to the Local Government Advisory Board. The new boundaries and wards should be in place for the October 2017 local government elections.

Option 1: Three wards, nine Councillors plus the Mayor, new boundaries.

This option clearly divides the City into East, Central and West Wards.
  • West Ward covers Hamilton Hill and Spearwood, plus Coogee and Munster (west of Rockingham Road). The new residential areas of Spearwood, Munster, Coogee and North Coogee are included, plus the Henderson industrial strip on the southern coastal areas of the City.

  • Central Ward covers Coolbellup South Lake, Bibra Lake, Yangebup and North Lake in the north to the newer suburbs such as Beeliar and Cockburn Central to the industrial/ rural areas of Wattleup and Munster (east of Rockingham Road) in the south. The Bibra Lake industrial area is quite central in the ward.

  • East Ward includes Banjup's semi-rural and new residential areas of Treeby, Aubin Grove, Hammond Park, Success and Atwell plus Jandakot (including Jandakot Airport) and the associated commercial areas. It includes Cockburn Central South and Cockburn Gateways Shopping Centre

What is the impact?
The change will:
  • Relocate the suburbs of South Lake and Cockburn Central from East ward to Central ward
  • Extend the boundary of West ward and Central ward to follow the Stock Road/Rockingham Road alignment to the southern district boundary with the City of Kwinana

  • Annex the more recently residentially developed part of Munster (west of Rockingham Road) from Central ward into West ward

  • Retain the more rural focussed part of that locality (east of Rockingham Road) in Central ward

  • Transfer the industrial locality of Henderson from Central ward to West ward
Release Date: Tuesday, February 21, 2017 
Contact Name: Customer Services
Contact Phone: 9411 3444
Contact Email:
Documents for

Share this article with friends: