cockburn.wa.gov.au





12 September 2017

## EMBARGOED until after 6pm, 13 September, 2017

## Sporting prowess honoured at new Hall of Fame

The City of Cockburn has launched its new Sports Hall of Fame at Cockburn ARC and added two new inductees.

27-time State Motocross Champion, National and 1993 World Grand Prix Motocross Australia competitor Matt Battista and World Champion table tennis competitor and long-time WA and Australian Veterans Captain Gordon Lee were inducted into the new Hall of Fame at its launch at the ARC on 13 September.

Mr Battista has represented WA and Australia in the sport he loves since 1986 and despite a serious accident at Wanneroo Raceway in 2008 that left him paralysed, he has continued to race competitive Superbikes at the raceway as recently as this year.

And he still holds the raceway's lap record of 57.11 seconds, which he achieved in 2006.

Mr Lee was captain of the U/18 WA Junior table tennis team in 1955 but ceased playing the following year due to employment, not taking it up until 46 years later, in 2002 as a 65-year-old. He has been captain of the WA Veterans since then, also playing with the State Seniors team in 2005 and has been President of Fremantle Table Tennis Club since 2002.

The two men join the 17 other inductees who were honoured in two groups, the first in 2004 and the second in 2012.

The City has spent \$20,000 establishing the new Hall of Fame at Cockburn ARC. An interactive touch-screen kiosk that provides information on each inductee will be installed at the ARC later this financial year.

The original Hall of Fame at the City's Spearwood administration building, established in 2004, will remain in place and will be updated with the new 2017 inductees.

Document Set ID: 6666206 Version: 1, Version Date: 14/09/2017





Cockburn Mayor Logan Howlett said the new Hall of Fame would be appreciated by many more members of the community at its new high-profile location, as a reminder of the dedication of local families as they supported their loved ones in the pursuit of excellence in their chosen sporting fields.

## 2004 inductees:

Steve Srhoy – Lawn Bowls

Kevin Allen – Sailing

Frances Maunton (nee Reid) - Lacrosse

Peter Sumich – Australian Rules Football

John Edward Denic – Lacrosse

Val Norris (nee Buffham) - Gymnastics

Glen Jakovich – Australian Rules Football

**Christine Dorey - Tennis** 

Alan Beale – Soccer

Robert Golding – Hockey

Graeme Benthien – Cycling

## 2012 inductees:

Lara Carroll – Swimming

Kimberly Lewis – Darts

Ken Norris OAM - Cycling

cockburn.wa.gov.au





Tom Grljusich – Australian Rules Football

Smiljana Jakovich - Lawn Bowls

George Grljusich – Sports Media

ENDS

For more information contact: Media and Communications Officer City of Cockburn T: 08 9411 3551 E: media@cockburn.wa.gov.au

Document Set ID: 6666206 Version: 1, Version Date: 14/09/2017